top of page

The 12 Jyotirlingas

In my last post I spoke about the Somanatha Temple (The shrine where Chandra meditated upon Shiva to regain his immortality back. The auspicious shrine is located in the state of Gujarat and is considered to be one of the most sacred places in our country. It is also among the 12 main Jyotirlingas. The three worlds, of the Gods, Demons and Humans are pervaded by Shiva in the form of sacred lingams and they are plenty in number. However the main Jyotirlingas on earth are 12 where Shiva appeared by manifesting himself into a physical form and decided to remain there until eternity to bless the world.

Our scriptures say that by only chanting the names daily of these 12 Jyotirlingas one can achieve every desire and the one who chants these names without a desire will be freed from the endless cycle of birth and death. Following are the 12 Jyotirlingas and their place of origin: · Somanatha (Gujarat) · Mallikarjuna (A.P) · Mahakaala (M.P) · Parameswara (M.P) · Kedara (Uttarakhand) · BhimSankara(Maharashtra) · Visvesa (U.P) · Tryambaka (Maharashtra) · Vaidyanatha (Jharkhand) · Nagesa (Gujarat) · Ramesa (Tamil Nadu) · Ghusmesa (Maharashtra)Although no amount of words can describe the powerful energy one will experience on these sacred spots ..One must visit to feel the same. Personally I have been to 3 of the Jyotrlingas so far and wish to cover all the 12 soon since the energy felt here leaves you craving for more. Wanted to share the legends behind each of these sacred spots.Will be sharing them in my next posts 🙂 so keep reading!!! . .

77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page